Conflict of Interest Committee Membership


Chair: Craig S. Wilcox, PhD
Research Integrity Officer

Vice Chair: Mara J. Horwitz, MD
Associate Professor/School of Medicine
Associate Research Integrity Officer


Alejandro J. Almarza, PhD
Associate Professor/Oral Biology

Velpandi Ayyavoo, PhD
Professor/Infectious Diseases and Microbiology

Carey D. Balaban, PhD
Director/University of Pittsburgh Center for National Preparedness
Professor/Otolaryngology/Neurobiology/Communication Science & Disorders/Bioengineering

Michelle S. Broido, PhD
Associate Vice Chancellor for Biomedical Research
Director/Office of Research, Health Sciences

Susan K. Cohen, PhD
Associate Professor/Business Administration

Kenrick Fernandes
Graduate Student/Department of Computer Science

Robert L. Ferris, MD, PhD
Director/UPMC Hillman Cancer Center

Barry I. Gold, PhD
Professor and Chair/Pharmaceutical Sciences

Kelly Dornin-Koss, MPPM, RN, CCRC
Co-Director/ Research Conduct and Compliance Office
Director/Education & Compliance Office for Human Subject Research

Alan D. Hirschman, PhD
Professor/ Bioengineering
Executive Director/Center for Medical Innovation

Saleem Khan, PhD
Professor/Microbiology and Molecular Genetics

William E. Klunk, MD, PhD
Distinguished Professor/Psychiatry
Pittsburgh Foundation Chair/Alzheimer’s Disease and Dementia Disorders

Stephen B. Manuck, PhD
Distinguished University Professor/ Health Psychology & Behavioral Medicine/ Psychology

Jeffrey Shook, PhD, JD
Associate Professor/Social Work

Jeremy P. Somers, PhD
Scientific Director, Office of Research, Health Sciences

Jeffrey Vipperman
Associate Professor/Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science

William R. Wagner, PhD
Professor/Surgery, Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering
Director/McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine

Abdus S. Wahed, PhD

David T. Wehrle, CPA, CIA, CFE
Director/Conflict of Interest Office

Jennifer E. Woodward, PhD
Vice Chancellor for Research Operations
Associate Professor/Surgery

Bill Yates, PhD
Co-Director/Research Conduct and Compliance Office
Professor/Otolaryngology and Neuroscience

Thomas E. Youngs, Jr., CPM, CPPO
Director/Purchasing Services

Community Member

Thomas E. Boyle, JD
Attorney/Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC

Ex officio Members

Alexander J. Ciocca, JD, MPH
Associate Counsel/UPMC Legal Department

Evan Facher, PhD, MBA
Interim Director/Innovation Institute

Kimberly D. Moses, JD
Senior Legal Associate Counsel/Office of General Counsel